The Peasant Times-Dispatch
The Peasant Podcast
Is That So?
2
0:00
-21:38

Is That So?

Season 2: Peasant's Apprentice Episode 06
2

Episode 6, in which I muse aloud about the Taoist tool for refusing to get outraged about circumstances we can’t control: The question “Is that so?”

The question comes from an anecdote

shared with me from a book whose name I forgot while recording, but which is called “The cicada and the bird” by Chuang Tzu.

We’re calling this Season 2 of the Podcast because it is different. The Peasant’s Apprentice is a space for me to share life lessons I have learned that relate to living a peasantly life. It’s called the Peasant’s Apprentice because it’s advice that a Master might give an Apprentice who is trying to learn a trade. Not to suggest I am in any way a Master, but anyway you get the drift.

The concept is basically a rip-off of Dry Creek Wrangler School on YouTube, but I’m putting my own twist on it.

Programming note: Spotify switched their editing tool to Riverside.FM, which took away their library of background music. It’s the end of an era! But also: Is that so? If anyone has tips for putting background music in their podcasts, I’d love to hear them.

Part of the model for the Peasant’s Apprentice is that once I post three episodes, the next oldest episode will go behind a paywall. This is episode 6! In case you’re new here, Episode 3 will go behind a paywall later today! If you would like to keep your access, kindly consider a paid subscription!

Thank you very much for listening. Did you get something out of this episode? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment

God bless you!

Ad Jesum Per Mariam

2 Comments
The Peasant Times-Dispatch
The Peasant Podcast
For Catholic peasants trying to coexist with modernity.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Scoot
Recent Episodes